Minimalism.

kmcclusk.wordpress.com

The first post. I want to start off by saying that starting a lifestyle change is not like starting a blog. I have read minimalist blogs for months and and have already tried to live as a minimalist. I did not decide to do this over night. I will post about my intentions of this experiment, my influences, and whatever the hell else I want.

First of all, I try not to set goals in my life and I would encourage others to join me. If one does succeed at reaching a goal, now what? Also,  it was probably not as good as imagined, plus it always sucks to not reach your goals. There is an episode of Ricky Gervais’ An Idiot Abroad in which Karl criticizes the nature of goals. He truly is a modern day philosopher.

I am saying this because I don’t believe that being excessively minimalistic or materialistic is good or bad. I will not have a goal set in stone about how much stuff I have. Now how do these topics relate?

Live in the moment with what you need to be comfortable. Or as Theodore Roosevelt said it, “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

There. My proposition.

Through out these next few weeks, I will post some good food for thought. So stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

