Minimalism and Macintosh

There is a huge distinction I need to made: the difference between minimalism and frugalism. Minimalism, to me at least, has more of an aesthetic appeal, while frugalism is a money saving technique. If I was a frugalist, I would not be writing with a Mac right now. Instead of buying a sleek black sketchbook, I’d draw with my own blood on scraps of paper I found on the side of the road. Instead, one of the most important ideas of minimalism is to own quality items that are cherished and beautifully crafted. It sounds so consumeristic, but Apple and the Gap are some of my favorite companies because their products are made well and aesthetically pleasing. Recently, I lost my North face jacket. At first I was disappointed because I wore that jacket a lot, but now that I don’t have it, I don’t miss it. This realization makes me feel like I’m in a rut. I thought I was doing pretty good, but I didn’t need that jacket. What else am I overlooking?

Back to apple products. The iPhone. I’m on the fence about this one. On the one hand, I can get rid of 3 items I currently own and replace them with just one. Those items are: camera, mp3 player, and phone. One the other, I’m am doing just fine with my dumb phone and iPod. How sad is the dependence on technology in our world? It’s disgusting.

The last thing I am going to mention is how much I enjoy having a de-cluttered desktop on my Mac. On busy weeks I’ll save important files to my desktop and it’s gets messy. It is always a good feeling organizing or trashing those files, keeping the desktop completely clear.

Leave a Reply

